• Home
  • People
  • Chairs & Directors

Departments, Programs & Centers

The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences is made up of more than 50 departments, programs and centers, each of which is overseen by a chair or director.

Department/Program Name Email Phone
African & African-American Studies Lang, Clarence celang@ku.edu 4-3054
American Studies Hamer, Jennifer jhamer@ku.edu 4-5373
Anthropology Hoopes, John hoopes@ku.edu 4-2638
Applied Behavioral Science DiGennaro Reed, Florence fdreed@ku.edu 4-0519
Biology, Undergraduate  Burg, Gregory gburg@ku.edu 4-4143
Center for East Asian Studies Greene, J. Megan mgreene@ku.edu 4-9127
Center for Global & International Studies Younger, John jyounger@ku.edu 4-9037
Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies Metz, Brent bmetz@ku.edu 4-0283
Center for Research Methods & Data Analysis Johnson, Paul pauljohn@ku.edu 4-3353
Center for Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies Chernetsky, Vitaly vchernetsky@ku.edu 4-9463
Chemistry Laird, Brian  blaird@ku.edu 4-4632
Child Language Program Rice, Mabel mabel@ku.edu 4-4570
Classics Welch, Tara tswelch@ku.edu 4-2395
Clinical Child Psychology Steele, Ric rsteele@ku.edu 4-4226
Communication Studies Beisecker, Tom south40@ku.edu 4-9882
Computational Biology Vakser, Ilya vakser@ku.edu 4-1057
Dance Heffner Hayes, Michelle mhayes@ku.edu 4-1098
East Asian Languages & Cultures Childs, Maggie mgchilds@ku.edu 4-9128
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Haufler, Chris vulgare@ku.edu 4-3255
Economics Juhl, Ted juhl@ku.edu 4-2842
English Neill, Anna aneill@ku.edu 4-2521
Environmental Studies Fowle, David fowle@ku.edu 4-8992
Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center Perkins, Jonathan jperkins@ku.edu 4-4782
Film & Media Studies Falicov, Tamara tfalicov@ku.edu 4-1353
French & Italian Jewers, Caroline cjewers@ku.edu 4-9062
Geography Brunsell, Nathaniel brunsell@ku.edu 4-5534
Geology González, Luis lgonzlez@ku.edu 4-2743
Germanic Languages & Literatures Kowalchuk, Liz kowalchu@ku.edu 4-4083
Gerontology Mielke, Jim mielke@ku.edu 4-8661
History Moran, Jeff jefmoran@ku.edu 4-9450
History of Art Cateforis, David decat@ku.edu 4-4713
Honors Young, Bryan cbyoung@ku.edu 4-4225
Humanities Zimdars-Swartz, Sandra szimdars@ku.edu 4-0160
Indigenous Studies Zogry, Michael mzogry@ku.edu 4-5271
Jewish Studies Younger, John jyounger@ku.edu 4-2311
Kansas African Studies Center Caminero-Santangelo, Byron bsantag@ku.edu 4-3745
Linguistics Jongman, Allard ajongman@ku.edu 4-2384
Mathematics  Katz, Daniel dlk53@ku.edu 4-7303
Molecular Biosciences Egan, Susan sme@ku.edu 4-4294
Museum Studies Welsh, Peter phwelsh@ku.edu 4-5702
Philosophy Symons, John johnsymons@ku.edu 4-1948
Physics & Astronomy Feldman, Hume feldman@ku.edu  4-4740 
Political Science Haider-Markel, Don dhmarkel@ku.edu 4-9034
Psychology Atchley, Ruth-Ann ratchley@ku.edu 4-9821
Religious Studies Stevenson, Daniel Bruce dbsteve@ku.edu 4-7258
School of Languages, Literatures & Cultures Greenberg, Marc mlg@ku.edu 4-4803
School of Public Affairs & Administration Robinson, Reggie rlrobinson@ku.edu 4-3527
Slavic Languages & Literatures Dickey, Stephen smd@ku.edu 4-2357
Sociology Smith, David emerald@ku.edu  4-9417
Spanish & Portuguese Perez, Jorge jorgep@ku.edu 4-0286
Speech-Language-Hearing Storkel, Holly hstorkel@ku.edu 4-0639
Theatre Leon, Mechele  mleon@ku.edu 4-2651
Visual Art Jordan, Mary Anne majordan@ku.edu 4-2952
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Doan, Alesha adoan@ku.edu 4-9094
Department Undergraduate Coordinator Email Phone
American Studies Flores, Ruben flores@ku.edu 4-2303
African & African-American Studies Lang, Clarence celang@ku.edu 4-5569
Anthropology Gray, Sandra sjgray@ku.edu 4-2646
Applied Behavioral Science Neidert, Pam pneidert@ku.edu 4-0771
Applied Behavioral Science Dozier, Claudia cdozier@ku.edu 4-0526
Biology, Undergraduate  Burg, Gregory gburg@ku.edu 4-4143
Center for Global & International Studies Wuthrich, Mike mwuthrich@ku.edu 4 -1120
Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies Flores, Ruben flores@ku.edu 4-2303
Chemistry Benson, Dave drb@ku.edu 4-4090
Classics Gordon ,Pamela pgordon@ku.edu 4 2396
Communication Studies Zhang, Yan Bing ybzhang@ku.edu 4-9678
Dance Heffner Hayes, Michelle mhayes@ku.edu 4-1098
East Asian Languages & Culture Gerbert, Elaine gerbert@ku.edu 4 9127
Economics Becker, Neal nbecker@ku.edu 4-2864
English Conrad, Kathryn kconrad@ku.edu 4-3314
Environmental Studies Brown, Chris jcbrown2@ku.edu 4-8992
Film & Media Studies Preston, Catherine cpreston@ku.edu 4 1351
French Booker, Tom tbooker@ku.edu 4 9075
Geography Xingong Li  lixi@ku.edu 4-5545
Geology Tsoflias, George tsoflias@ku.edu 4-4584
Germanic Languages Vanchena, Lorie vanchena@ku.edu 4-9174
History Moran, Jeff jefmoran@ku.edu 4-9450
History of Art Cateforis, David dcat@ku.edu 4 4713
Humanities Zimdars-Swartz, Sandra szimdars@ku.edu 4-3011
Jewish Studies Stainton, Hamsa h208s676@ku.edu 4-5568
Linguistics Torrence, Harold torrence@ku.edu 4-2882
Math Bayer, Margaret bayer@ku.edu 4-3651
Molecular Biosciences Dentler, William wdent@ku.edu 4-3490
Philosophy Frykholm. Erin frykholm@ku.edu 4-2339
Physics & Astronomy Baringer,Philip  baringer@ku.edu  4-3953
Political Science Bejarano, Christina  cbejaran@ku.edu 4-9122
Psychology Vitevitch, Mike mvitevit@ku.edu 4-9312
Religious Studies Stainton, Hamsa h208s676@ku.edu 4-5568
Russian, East European & Eurasian Studies Chernetsky, Vitaly vchernetsky@ku.edu 4-3313
School of Public Affairs & Administration Portillo, Shannon sportillo@ku.edu 4-1887
Slavic Languages & Literatures Vassileva-Karagyozova, Svetlana  svk@ku.edu 4-2351
Sociology Donovan, Brian bdonovan@ku.edu 4-9422
Spanish & Portuguese Bayliss, Robert rbayliss@ku.edu 4-1132
Speech-Language-Hearing Brady, Nancy nbrady@ku.edu 4-0762
Theatre Klein, Jeanne kleinj@ku.edu 4-5576
Visual Arts Velasco, Maria mvelasco@ku.edu 4-5527
Women, Gender & Sexuaity Studies Doan, Alesha adoan@ku.edu 4-9094
Department Graduate Studies Director Email Phone
African & African-American Studies Shawn Alexander slalexan@ku.edu 4-5044
American Studies Clarence Lang celang@ku.edu 4-5569
Anthropology Frederic Sellet fsellet@ku.edu 4-1042
Applied Behavioral Science Derek Reed dreed@ku.edu 4-0504
Applied Behavioral Science Florence DiGennaro Reed fdreed@ku.edu 4-0521
Center for Global & International Studies Mike Wuthrich mwuthrich@ku.edu 4-0508
Center for Latin American & Caribbean Studies Melissa Birch mhbirch@ku.edu 4-7571
Chemistry Jon Tunge tunge@ku.edu 4-4136
Child Language Mabel L. Rice mabel@ku.edu 4-4570
Classics Emma Scioli scioli@ku.edu 4-2546
Clinical Child Psychology Ric Steele rsteele@ku.edu 4-0550
Communication Studies (Lawr) Robert Rowland rrowland@ku.edu 4-9868
Communication Studies (Edw) Tracy Russo trusso@ku.edu 4-9877
Computational Biology John Karanicolas johnk@ku.edu 4-4683
East Asian Languages & Cultures Keith McMahon kmcmahon@ku.edu 4-9126
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Sharon Billings sharonb@ku.edu 4-1560
Economics Shu Wu shuwu@ku.edu 4-2868
English Giselle Anatol ganatol@ku.edu 4-2575
Environmental Studies Mark Jakubauskas mjakub@ku.edu 4-1508
French & Italian Bruce Hayes bhayes@ku.edu 4-9028
Genetics Erik Lundquist erikl@ku.edu 4-5853
Geography David Mechem dmechem@ku.edu 4-5707
Geology Gwen Macpherson glmac@ku.edu 4-2742
Germanic Languages & Literatures William Keel wkeel@ku.edu 4-4657
Gerontology David Ekerdt dekerdt@ku.edu 4-0688
History Sara Gregg sgregg@ku.edu 4-9468
History of Art Marni Kessler mrk@ku.edu 4-4713
Indigenous Studies Michael J. Zogry mzogry@ku.edu 4-5271
Linguistics Alison Gabriele gabriele@ku.edu 4-1014
Mathematics Milena Stanislavova stanis@ku.edu 4-4369
Molecular Biosciences Stuart MacDonald sjmac@ku.edu 4-5362
Museum Studies Peter Welsh phwelsh@ku.edu 4-5702
Philosophy Tom Tuozzo ttuozzo@ku.edu 4-2330
Physics & Astronomy Gregory Rudnick grudnick@ku.edu 4-4099
Political Science Mark Joslyn mjozz@ku.edu 4-9046
Psychology Monica Biernat biernat@ku.edu 4-9815
Public Affairs & Administration (SPAA - Masters) Marilu Goodyear goodyear@ku.edu 4-3527
Public Affairs & Administration (SPAA) - PhD Holly Goerdel hgoerdel@ku.edu  
Religious Studies Molly Zahn mzahn@ku.edu 4-4609
Russian, East European & Eurasian, Center Mariya Omelicheva omeliche@ku.edu 4-9002
Slavic Languages & Literatures Vitaly Chernetsky vchernetsky@ku.edu  
Sociology Kelly H. Chong kchong@ku.edu 4-9415
SOTA Film & Media Studies Michael Baskett eiga@ku.edu 4-1384
SOTA Theatre Nicole Hodges Persley hodgespersley@ku.edu 4-2820
SOTA Visual Art Norman Akers normanakers2@ku.edu 4-3231
Spanish & Portuguese Jorge Perez jorgep@ku.edu 4-1131
Speech-Language-Hearing-LAWRENCE CAMPUS Diane Loeb** dianelo@ku.edu 4-0638
Speech-Language-Hearing-LAWRENCE CAMPUS Holly Storkel** hstorkel@ku.edu 4-0639
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Kim Warren kwarren@ku.edu 4-9451

 


Connect with the College

Home to 50+ departments, centers, and programs, the School of the Arts, and the School of Public Affairs and Administration
KU offers courses in 40 languages
No. 1 ranking in city management and urban policy —U.S. News and World Report
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
46 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times